Today’s Bible reading

Luke 10:27 (New International Version, ©2011)

 27 He (Jesus) answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.”

Psalm 41:7-13 (New International Version, ©2011)

 7 All my enemies whisper together against me;
   they imagine the worst for me, saying,
8 “A vile disease has afflicted him;
   he will never get up from the place where he lies.”
9 Even my close friend,
   someone I trusted,
one who shared my bread,
   has turned against me.

 10 But may you have mercy on me, LORD;
   raise me up, that I may repay them.
11 I know that you are pleased with me,
   for my enemy does not triumph over me.
12 Because of my integrity you uphold me
   and set me in your presence forever. 13 Praise be to the LORD, the God of Israel,
   from everlasting to everlasting.
            Amen and Amen.

These 2 kind of went together today…  I need to love the Lord with everything I’ve got and love everyone like I love myself.  I think we can all do better at this.  So many of us (me included) love after we feel loved.  We need to just love without any expectations or prerequisits.  So often our family, friends, co-workers, people out and about often do not do EVERYTHING to love us as they love themselves…  Husband and wives spat, kids disobey, friends will gossip and cut you down, co-workers dump work on ya, and people will cut you off…  But does that excuse us from the command, : ‘Love your neighbor as yourself’?  No it makes it TOUGH but that is when we are called to love even more. 

How do you love someone that is being mean to you?   Sometimes they need more love…  Phone calls, notes, emails and going out with them.  Sometimes you need to leave them alone to show them love…   This can be very hard but if they are not ready for your love, then they are not ready.  Often people need to fix things in themselves in order to accept love.  If you’ve got love to give, you will run into these people and please don’t get discouraged…  Love Love Love…  The greatest of all things is LOVE.  We’ve been commanded to do IT!  🙂

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
