Today’s Bible Reading

Luke 13: 1-9

Repent or Perish

 1 Now there were some present at that time who told Jesus about the Galileans whose blood Pilate had mixed with their sacrifices. 2 Jesus answered, “Do you think that these Galileans were worse sinners than all the other Galileans because they suffered this way? 3 I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish. 4 Or those eighteen who died when the tower in Siloam fell on them—do you think they were more guilty than all the others living in Jerusalem? 5 I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish.” 6 Then he told this parable: “A man had a fig tree growing in his vineyard, and he went to look for fruit on it but did not find any. 7 So he said to the man who took care of the vineyard, ‘For three years now I’ve been coming to look for fruit on this fig tree and haven’t found any. Cut it down! Why should it use up the soil?’

   8 “‘Sir,’ the man replied, ‘leave it alone for one more year, and I’ll dig around it and fertilize it. 9 If it bears fruit next year, fine! If not, then cut it down.’”

Is their fruit on your tree?  Are you making yourself available to do what God is asking? 

How do you know if you are bearing fruit?  Well, that question needs some hard self examination.  What image are you oozing?  Is it fruit bearing?  One are you a Christian and openingly admit that and give thanks to God when people comment about good things in your life.  I was doing an OK job at this in my personal life, but not at work.  I work a 40 hr a week job that (Please don’t take this the wrong way…) but I’m pretty good at.  When someone would compliment me I would just say Thank-you.  Now, there is NOTHING wrong with that, but what kind of fruit does that bear?  If I said, thank-you, God has blessed me.  Now that…  that would allow the person to know I’m a Christian and see the benefits of it, but without throwing it in there face.  Planting seeds…  keep planting seeds.

How do you know if you are doing what God is asking?  TOUGH ONE!  For me…  God will throw things in my face… 2,3,4 maybe more times.  Take this Blog.  I was told no less than 10 times in 1 week that I needed to start this.  OK, I’m a mother of 2 GREAT kids who are involved in EVERYTHING, My hubby owns his own business, I work 40 hours a week, lead a church home group, work out 5 x a week and go to church.  I said I DO NOT HAVE TIME!   I knew that it would help people though and BEAR FRUIT so after prayfully considering it, I jumped in.  By the grace of God, I’m waking up early…  reading my Bible everyday (yes everyday…  woo hoo!)  and getting organized during my morning coffee before the fam wakes up.  Now that has given me more time and not less. 

I love how when God asks you to do something and you step out in faith, he doesn’t pile you plate higher…  He makes your plate BIGGER!

God Bless…  I’m taking tomorrow off from Blogging so we’ll see ya Monday!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
