Daily Bible Reading

Luke 15:8-10

The Parable of the Lost Coin

    8 “Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins and loses one. Doesn’t she light a lamp, sweep the house and search carefully until she finds it? 9 And when she finds it, she calls her friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost coin.’ 10 In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”

My iphone knows all about this.  Over the weekend we lost my daughter’s LG Neon cell phone and COMPLETELY ignored my iphone.  Tragic, I know.  But while we spent hours looking for that “free with contract” phone my iphone laid there unused, and losing it’s charge.   We finally found my daughter’s phone and we rejoiced!  Oh Happy Day!!!  It was the  greatest feeling to have the phone back safe and sound. 
I’m joking around, but how often do you feel jealous of someone less deserving?  I work my butt off to be the best Christian, wife, mom, and friend I can be and often things get unnoticed…  But are we doing them to get praise or are we doing them to be the best person we can be so our lives are better?  A better life isn’t one with more compliments and praise, it’s a life where you can look back and say I did the best I could by God, my family and my friends.   I shouldn’t NEED (thougth it’s always graciously recieved) praise for things that I do day in and day out…  Like pick up after my kids, cook dinner, do the shopping, etc.  But what if one day my husband cooked dinner or did the shopping ?  (I won’t let that happen, because he’d spend way too much $!!!)   He deserves to be praised. 
With my kids, my daughter has always been an amazing pleaser…  always wanting to please me and Jay.  My son on the other hand has ADHD and is the funniest entertainer and life of the party.  Both VERY enjoyable and VERY different.  Now my daughters chore list is longer than my sons…  one for age but 2 because of his ADHD.  I appreciate that both my kids do chores, but when Gabe does his shorter list without distraction, complaining, and questioning…  I am rejoicing so much more than if Abby did her longer list the same way.      Outwardly, I praise both of them in their love language (Abby is affection and Gabe is my time). 
On the flip side, my daughter is a home body and with a little nudging has joined several things at school this year and really enjoyed them.   I rejoice in the fact that she is joining groups.  Now Gabe would join everything and anything and be talking to everyone and making them laugh in 2 minutes flat, but Abby is a little more reserved.
So if you start to feel unappreciated today…  realize that by being the best person you can be…  God’s rejoicing and he can give you so much more than just a “Good Job”… 
Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
