Daily Bible Reading

Luke 16:10-13

10 “Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much. 11 So if you have not been trustworthy in handling worldly wealth, who will trust you with true riches? 12 And if you have not been trustworthy with someone else’s property, who will give you property of your own?

   13 “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.”

How do you think about money?  Are you in your brain trying to think of every whichway you can have more?  Or do you know what you have and make it work and when it’s done, it’s done.  Do you think about what good you can do for others or yourself? 

I would like to say I give mine all away and don’t worry about it.  But that is just not the case.  With my husband owning his own business money is constantly getting shuffled and figured out.  But I don’t love it and when there is an abundance I give.  One thing I’m MOST excited about this couponing is getting a stock pile so I can start donating to our local food pantry and Project Blessing (An organization at my church that helps get the homeless all the stuff they need for their first home). 

So when money is tight how do you not love it when you have it?  I think getting into a pattern of giving is a HUGE help.  Like anything…  if you do it long enough it becomes habit.  Putting $ into the offering or donation buckets was hard for me about 10 years ago…  But now I do what I can and feel bad if I don’t have enough to give generously. 

 Why the change?  I owe a lot of my improved character and moral fiber to God and my church.  Our pastors teach the Bible in such a practicle and understanding way that it just makes sense and is almost easy to do.  When you start feeling like you wanted to give more than $5 to the girl scout rather than upset that you felt guilty and had to give them your last $5…  Your whole outlook on life changes…  Anger is cancer…  It spread to everyone who is around us and can be very toxic to your life.  So…  let’s try and make little changes to change our outlook on this and try and stay positive.

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
