Daily Bible Reading

Luke 18:9-14

The Parable of the Pharisee and the Tax Collector

 9 To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everyone else, Jesus told this parable: 10 “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. 11 The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other people—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector. 12I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.’

   13“But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.’

   14 “I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.”

How do  you see yourself?   Are you putting God where he should be…  first and not yourself? 

I work very hard at my job.  It is stressful at times but I LOVE it.  I’ve been there over 10 years and am a valued and respected employee.  The day I realized this was “not by my might” “but by the spirit of the Lord”  is the day things really started clicking.  God gave me my brain and I have chosen to use it…  So ultimately I need to realize my skills are from him… 

OK, if your Mom gave you an apple tree and your sister an apple tree.  She took care of it and you didn’t…..  Ten years later, your sister’s tree has tons of apples and yours doesn’t even exist it’s dead…  #1) Your sister should be thanking your Mom for the tree…  not boasting what a WONDERFUL job she did at taking care of  it.  #2) I should be appologizing for not taking care of the gift she gave me not complaining that my mom gave the nicer tree to my sister.  Or saying things like, “If it wasn’t for bad luck, I wouldn’t have any luck at all…” 

So remember God gives us many gifts, how we chose to use and cultivate them is up to us!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
