Daily Bible Reading

Luke 19:15-26 

   15“He was made king, however, and returned home. Then he sent for the servants to whom he had given the money, in order to find out what they had gained with it.

   16“The first one came and said, ‘Sir, your mina has earned ten more.’

   17“‘Well done, my good servant!’ his master replied. ‘Because you have been trustworthy in a very small matter, take charge of ten cities.’

   18“The second came and said, ‘Sir, your mina has earned five more.’

   19“His master answered, ‘You take charge of five cities.’

   20 “Then another servant came and said, ‘Sir, here is your mina; I have kept it laid away in a piece of cloth. 21I was afraid of you, because you are a hard man. You take out what you did not put in and reap what you did not sow.’

   22 “His master replied, ‘I will judge you by your own words, you wicked servant! You knew, did you, that I am a hard man, taking out what I did not put in, and reaping what I did not sow? 23Why then didn’t you put my money on deposit, so that when I came back, I could have collected it with interest?’

   24“Then he said to those standing by, ‘Take his mina away from him and give it to the one who has ten minas.’

   25“‘Sir,’ they said, ‘he already has ten!’

   26 “He replied, ‘I tell you that to everyone who has, more will be given, but as for the one who has nothing, even what they have will be taken away.

I was excited to read this today because I TOTALLY feel I’m able to stretch the money God gave me by doing couponing.

We eat instant potatoes.  They go on sale at Shaw’s for $.99 if  I wait until then and have $.50 off coupons that’s doubled, then I’m getting them for FREE…  How much better could I get with the money God has blessed me with?

Now there are areas we need to be CAREFULL with:

     1) Do you NEED that many.  If an item is on a good sale and you use one of the item every 3 months… DO NOT BUY 30 of the item.  (Now…  if it is FREE and it’s an item you can donate to a local pantry then that is different) 

     2) We have God given priorities.  Are you keeping them in check.   Couponing is a HUGE rush when you start saving over 50% on your grocery bill, but if you are doing it for that rush and it’s become a priority in your life, you need to be careful.  God and then Family MUST come first.   Some ways I control this is I do my couponing in the morning.  I also involve my kids and hubby in the trips and coupon clipping.  We often allow ourselves “treats” at the stores if we can get the savings to a certain point.  If my kids help me clip coupons, often they see some food the REALLY want…  If they help me with a cheerful heart, then I allow them to pick one coupon and I’ll get the item for them.  I have a very focused and obsessive tendancies.  This is something I need to keep in check CONSTANTLY.

     3) Are you sharing what you know to help others?  This can be done in 1000’s of ways.  I’ve decided to blog and do a class at my church with a friend, but it doesn’t have to be that much.  A simple conversation or fb post can change someone’s life.  I know my couponing is going to get us to see my family down south which we NEVER would have been able to afford if I hadn’t started doing this. 

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
