Daily Bible Reading

Psalm 49:16-20 

16 Do not be overawed when others grow rich,
   when the splendor of their houses increases;
17 for they will take nothing with them when they die,
   their splendor will not descend with them.
18 Though while they live they count themselves blessed—
   and people praise you when you prosper—
19 they will join those who have gone before them,
   who will never again see the light of life.

 20 People who have wealth but lack understanding
   are like the beasts that perish.

Yesterday I was talking to a few people who are down on their luck.  They are dealing with HUGE college bills on top of all their other expenses.  They are dealing with unemployment and depression.  But both took this situation and was looking on the bright side.  They both admitting humbly how they were feeling and then have decided to deal with it in a productive way.  I felt God there so strongly.   I think both believe in God, but aren’t overly involved in a church.  But God was there.  Then I tried to think how I would have handled either situation and I REALLY don’t think I would have done any better…  probably worse. 

I read this verse today and was a little convicted.  As every family except mine headed to Florida last week I became very jealous.  Now I’m not saying any of these families have a “lack of understanding” but I do know that I do have a slight level of understanding and that is why we are not going on credit cards and maxing everything out.   So as I spoke with my friends yesterday and read this today…  I want to Praise God for what he has and hasn’t given me because I never would have realized this if I was in Florida maxing out my credit card!

I hope all of you can find peace and comfort in the spot you are in and know God is near all the time!  There is no need to worry about what other families are doing…  we are asked to only worry about our own.  😉

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
