Daily Bible Reading ~ 5/13/2011

John 8:4-8 

4 and [Pharisees] said to Jesus, “Teacher, this woman was caught in the act of adultery. 5 In the Law Moses commanded us to stone such women. Now what do you say?” 6 They were using this question as a trap, in order to have a basis for accusing him.

   But Jesus bent down and started to write on the ground with his finger. 7 When they kept on questioning him, he straightened up and said to them, “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.” 8 Again he stooped down and wrote on the ground.

Matthew 22:36-40

36“Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

 37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[a] 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[b] 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

Sin is everywhere and God does not expect us to live a sinless life.  His Son was the one who did that for us.  And he does not want us to judge…  that is HIS Job.  Jesus said our greatest commandment is to LOVE God and then LOVE your neighbor.  Who are your neighbors?  Are you loving them?   I don’t care what anyone has done, we are called to love them.  Now that doesn’t mean society doesn’t have a responsibility to make a corrective judgement in order to protest others…  And it doesn’t mean that we can’t have opinions and feeling that what people may be doing are wrong.  What it does mean is that we need to act in love.

A great example is a co-worker of mine I used to work with would ask the same question over and over…  HE just didn’t seem to get it.  I would never have patience with him and would tend to gossip about how awful he was.  Now, I had a right to discuss his lack of knowledge and his learning issues with my boss, but I didn’t have a right to treat him like a second-rate citizen and gossip (or let our my frustrations as I’d like to call it back then.) with others.  How is that showing LOVE?  When I started trying to teach him, I saw what a great kid he was and that his nerves were getting the best of him.  I had been there for so long, I was making him nervous.  I started making him right things down and rather than just asking me a questions, I had him figure out how he’d approach the problem and I’d tell him what I thought.  

There is a fine line between loving correction and guidance and sinful words and gossip and a lot of the time you in your heart need to know what the difference is.

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
