Daily Bible Reading ~ 5/16/11

John 9:1-7 – Jesus Heals a Man Born Blind

 1 As he [Jesus] went along, he saw a man blind from birth. 2His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”
   3 “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him. 4 As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work. 5While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”
 6 After saying this, he spit on the ground, made some mud with the saliva, and put it on the man’s eyes. 7 “Go,” he told him, “wash in the Pool of Siloam” (this word means “Sent”). So the man went and washed, and came home seeing.

There are 2 important things I take from this…  1) Bad things happening do not equate to us being bad.  This man was blind because God’s work needed to be shown.  What things in your life have you overcome so you can now minister and help others through it.   I think my STRONGEST ministries are from the hardest times in my life where I overcame them and relied on God to get me through. 

2) We will not overcome without faith.  I think God keeps us in that place until our faith strengthens to the point where we know if we get out it is by God’s grace.  That place is different for all of us and only God knows when your faith is big enough.  The blind man had mud put on his eyes and then was then sent to the public pool to wash.  OK…  If someone came up to you and did that what would you do?   We need to have faith in God’s promises to get our mind and thoughts like Jesus’.  We nee believe in our situations here on Earth so our faith is big enough to believe what is written about things we can not see.

John 5:24

“I tell you the truth, whoever hears
my word and believes him who sent me
has eternal life and will not be condemned;
he has crossed over from death to life.”

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
