Daily Bible Reading ~ 5/20/11

John 12:23-26

23 Jesus replied, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. 24 Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. 25 Anyone who loves their life will lose it, while anyone who hates their life in this world will keep it for eternal life. 26 Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.

God gives death a purpose with Earthly thinking sees it as the end.  He’s even given us an example of this here on Earth with the wheat kernel.  It actually dies and comes back to life bigger, better, and with a purpose.  

We need to realize that Jesus was the human example of this.  HE DIED and ROSE AGAIN and IS IN HEAVEN.  Now if that doesn’t sound better than eternity in dirt, I don’t know what does.  We need to serve him.  That is sometimes a dirty word, but if we are serving God, we’ll be serving the most just and generous master.  We will have lives filled with Joy and Peace because of our spirit that he has lit. 

When the passage says “anyone who hates their life in the world…”  It means their earthly fleshy life…  I hate the fact that I’m tempted to over-eat, I hate the fact that I’m getting older and things don’t work the same…  BUT I LOVE MY CHRISTIAN LIFE that I’m serving GOD with…  That is the life where peace, joy, and blessings live and that is the life I want to live!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
