Daily Bible Reading ~ 06/07/11

Acts 4:11-12

8 Then Peter, filled with the Holy Spirit, said to them: “Rulers and elders of the people! 9 If we are being called to account today for an act of kindness shown to a man who was lame and are being asked how he was healed, 10 then know this, you and all the people of Israel: It is by the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, whom you crucified but whom God raised from the dead, that this man stands before you healed. 11Jesus is  “‘the stone you builders rejected,
   which has become the cornerstone.’   12 Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.”

John and Peter just healed a man and they were brought before the high priests and captains.  They liked their bubble and Jesus was busting that bubble.  They thought with Jesus dying this would stop and life would go back to normal, but his disciples were continuing the work of the Holy Spirit. 

What miracles are you seeing that you are writing off because you like your bubble?  What amazing things are you giving credit to people rather than God’s mighty power?  Who’s life are you discarding because it’s too good to be true and they must be lying?   If you could answer any of these questions…  ask yourself this…  “Why am I afraid of be believing in the Holy Spirit and the Mighty Power of God?” 

I idolized my husband.  He was my “God” and I didn’t realize it.  When he had a marriage issue that probably wouldn’t be such a big deal to some, it was a HUGE deal to me because I had put him on such a pedestal.  Then within weeks he was diagnosed with Cancer.  My world around me came crashing down.  With some counseling from Pastor Brian, I came to quickly realize that I had idolized my husband and he was more than the head of our family…  It took this happening to figure all this out.  I soon realized that my life wouldn’t ever go back to normal again.  I knew that from that point on God will always come first…  even before my kids and my husband.  That sounds bad to some people, but I believe in a God that can care for them a million times better than I can.  That was a very hard lesson to learn.  My fears, anxieties, and problems were washed away…  not instantly but pretty quickly.  I know there are people who think I’m just putting on a happy face, but my happy face is genuine…  My relationships in my marriage and family are better than ever.  “Praise God!”   So please don’t let a few experiences with “plastic people” ruin you SEEING what miracles God is doing through all of us…  God wants to use us to do his miracles, but you gotta burst the bubble first!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
