Daily Bible Reading ~ 7/19/11

Proverbs 17:22

 22 A cheerful heart is good medicine,
   but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

We all need to evaluate our heart.  If it’s not cheerful then how can we fill the world with God’s love.  If you are cheerful, then what makes your heart cheerful? 

I know I’m cheerful when I keep my life about following God command to love people and not make it about me.  I love being around family and friends that I love sharing those simple moments.  Last night we drove to Sanford for my hubby’s work and we are driving home listening to Switchfoot, my son pops up and says this is the loudest song. (not sure….maybe because he saw them last summer…)  So hubby turned it up and my 8 year old BELTED out every word with the best Rock Star voice.    I know I’m cheerful when I’m on the path God directed me to be on…  Coffee and Coupons, makes me cheerful (when I don’t let it get in the way of more important things…)  I also am cheerful, reaching out to those people when God puts them on my heart for a second.  It happened to me this morning with a guy I worked with a few years ago.  I’m so thankful to be able to connect with so many through facebook and the blog. 

If I’m not cheerful…  what’s happened…  I can assure you it when I’ve put myself first with thoughts like:   Life’s not fair to ME…  I don’t deserve this…  That person was rude to ME…  My life isn’t where I want it to be.  When I think about the verse..  I do feel crushed and deflated…  It’s so much better to be cheerful…  So when I feel like my spirit is crushed, what do I do?  I pray.  I always get a name of someone to reach out to or remember a sermon that I can look up scripture.  We can talk to God and read the Word of God and that is what you need to do…  Both will lead you back to the heart of it- loving others more than yourself.   It also helps to have friends who believe this truth and will correct your when your heart is not right.  I am VERY blessed to have a few people in my life who will do that, I hope you are too!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
