Daily Bible Reading ~ 7/20/11

Romans 6:12-14

12 Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body so that you obey its evil desires. 13 Do not offer any part of yourself to sin as an instrument of wickedness, but rather offer yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life; and offer every part of yourself to him as an instrument of righteousness. 14 For sin shall no longer be your master, because you are not under the law, but under grace.

Sin can be big or be little but in either form it can destroy you, your family and those who care about you.  Paul, in the letter to the Galatians describes it as acts of your flesh,

in Galatians 5:19 says:  19 The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; 20 idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions 21 and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. 

He also says in Galatians 5:14: 14 For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”15 If you bite and devour each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.

I really feel that the acts of the flesh are the reasons why we DON’T love our neighbor as ourselves…  It all goes back to putting God first and not ourselves.  We have a purpose and it’s simple ‘to show the love of God to everyone…’  Will there be people who twist things and not believe you…  will there be people who say I’m all set with that, will there be those who think you are crazy and try to prove you wrong…  will there even be people who let evil get control of them and fall away.  YES, but does that mean we give up?  Does that mean all is lost?  No, we still need to plant seeds and Pray. 

Many people go about this very differently.  I “TRY” to show people God’s love by the way I live my life and giving credit where credit is due.  It does however come back to bite me sometimes…  I’m usually very happy and upbeat even when trouble comes my way.  I try not to complain too much.  🙂  I also make an effort to reach out to those who may need someone.    I try to give God the glory for all the great things in my life.  Do people sometimes think I’m phony, Yes…  I’m come to the realization…  let people judge.  I’m overflowing with happiness and my heart is in the right place.  I can’t control people.  All I can control is myself and I’m loving life and loving God!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
