Daily Bible Reading ~ 10/10/11: Getting What You Need

OK, my Bible reading today made me think of the 90’s New Radical Song…  Get what you give.  God wants us to humble ourselves and make sacrifices to show our love for him and for people…  The funny thing is we do this by give what we usually need most whether that may be money, strength, encouragement…  Here are the lyrics:

You’ve got the music in you
Don’t let go
You’ve got the music in you
One dance left
This world is gonna pull through
Don’t give up
You’ve got a reason to live
Can’t forget
We only get what we give

1 Thessalonians 3: 2 We (Paul and Silas) sent Timothy, who is our brother and co-worker in God’s service in spreading the gospel of Christ, to strengthen and encourage you(Thessalonians) in your faith, 3 so that no one would be unsettled by these trials. {…}6 But Timothy has just now come to us from you and has brought good news about your faith and love. He has told us that you always have pleasant memories of us and that you long to see us, just as we also long to see you. 7 Therefore, brothers and sisters, in all our distress and persecution we were encouraged about you because of your faith. 

Paul, Silas and Timothy had been in Thessalonica and they were strong Christians and they loved being there, but they  knew there was more work to be done even though that work meant persecution…  Paul cared deeply for the Thessalonians and wanted to make sure they were still strong in their faith…  Well by him encouraging them and then sending Timothy to keep them encouraged…  He GAINED encouragement.  He got what he gave.

What do you need today…  is it encouragement, peace, love????  Well look around and see how much you are giving…  It’s very hard for all of us to give what we need… How can we give if we don’t have enough for ourselves?   I know my mom has some things going on and I was depleted and just felt a little hopeless…  Then my sisters from Nashville and Boston came up…  I know what the Bible says and I knew even if I wasn’t feeling it I needed to speak it…  I helped strengthen my sisters…  calm them down and it actually helped me as well…  Having my sisters here with me was a HUGE strength and gave me an overwhelming peace about everything. 

So when you are going about your day today…  remember you get what you give.  So make sure you are GIVING!!!!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
