Gabe Gab – What to do when they have a bad day after so many good ones.

We had our first camping trip of the season.  We were at a new place that does free clean up weekends and they let you leave your camper there.  We spent the weekend with family.  We did a little raking, had a great fire, rode bikes, met lots of new people at a pot luck and tried to catch some fish.  Most importantly we all got to relax.  Gabe didn’t know what to do with himself.  He was great.  Played with the fire did a little raking to earn his keep.  🙂

We got back home and we were only home for 1 1/2 hours and had to go to our life group.  Well Gabe has been around my friends kids more time than I can count and actually really looks forward to seeing all 5 of them, but he had enough this weekend.  He hadn’t been home in 2 days and he did not want to be at my friends house at all. 

I was really beside myself.  Luckily my friend knows and cares for Gabe so she understood.  I let him sit by himself for a while and on the way home I spoke with him about his actions and told him next time, he needed to come to me before getting to upset.  I’ll make sure we have time at home. 

These are the times I have to slow down and make sure that we get enough “at home” time.  I LOVE being on the go and I have to realize that I need to plan time to be home because both my son and hubby need that.  Moral of the story, know your kid and don’t fill their schedules with more than what they can handle.

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
