Today is a GREAT day!

It’s hard not say TODAY is a great day because Me and the kiddos are heading to Nashville with my Mom and Step-Dad to see my sis and her family.  I LOVE the adventure on long drives and the time I get to spend with family.  This year is especially important because I’ve got 2 of the best kids in the world and both had rough school years where the day on the surface may have not been great, but looking back on what it produced…  we can say it WAS a GREAT day!!!

Gabe  transitioned into an age where he needs to not rely on teachers to do things and remember everything.  It was rough to say the least.  The first couple days home he had some re-learning to do with how to treat and talk to his family.  I DO NOT tolerate attitude at all.  If I spoke with my peers or boss that way, I’d be fired.  Kids need to learn respect and how to communicate politely.  So, Gabe is ready for a vacation and to see cousin Jimmy and try out his top bunk! 

Abby was stella as usual but had girl drama and lost all the girls she had been hanging out with.  I’m actually very cool with that because she never fit in with them,…  I get that everyone is not going to want to be her friend, I wish it wasn’t so dramatic, but it was like a band-aid!  She was so great through it all and has a new group of friends that I can’t wait to have her hang out with this summer when we get back.  She is NOT boy crazy, doesn’t have the typical girl attitude, she’s not materialistic and yards sales with the best of them, she LOVES band,  loves spending time with family, and knows God is most important.  Now I KNOW…  I am SO BLESSED and it’s a little hard to come to grips with the fact she’s not popular, but in the big picture, she’s going to be just fine.  She has done ALL the laundry, packed all 3 of us, made our lunches, and gone to bed each night with a “I love you Mom and Dad!”  I can’t wait to spoil her the way she deserves.  She just doesn’t complain.  Get this…  she does the laundry and I didn’t know she only had 2 bras so she’d been making sure they were clean.  When I asked her what she wanted for the trip down, I was expecting new music, certain food like Gabe had requested.  Her response was a bra.  I FELT horrible and told her that she needs to speak up.  I would have gotten her some months ago.  I still don’t know where she gets that…  certainly not from Jay or me.  Hahahaha…  So I’ve given her $ to spend on WHATEVER she wants.  How much you want to bet it comes back to Maine…  God has a plan for her and Gabe too and I can’t WAIT to see what it is. 

Please don’t take this the wrong way.  My kids have issues.  They are often too sure of themselves, fight and get in trouble, but you can parent through anything…  Thank GOD for his GRACE!!!  I want EVERY mom to realize that each of our kids are special and different and that is PERFECTLY OK.   I pray that negative situations train them to seek God and not break them and complain or blame others.     

Have a GREAT weekend and 4th of July!  I’ll touch base when I get back!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Babes and Bellies
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 08:47:03

    Best kids in the whole world! So excited to see them! Jimmy can’t wait for Gabe to sleep up top!!! Drive safely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
