Intentionally Focused – Day 6

DayImage 6 of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.  I pray it helps me look up to Him more!  They only have scheduled Bible reading/SOAP M-F so I went a little rogue.  I hope that’s OK.  I opened up to 2 Corinthians and picked something.

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

 But this I say: He who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and he who sows bountifully will also reap bountifully.  So let each one of us give as he purposes in his heart, not grudgingly or of necessity: for God loves a cheerful giver.  ~ 2 Corinthians 9:6-7

O-bservations:

When I give, I need to be giving my ALL and cheerfully…  That is how to get the most out of life (reap bountifully).

A-pplication:

As I go through this study and my Planning People FB group, I’m doing more and more of what I feel God’s called me to do.  The more I do the more I tend to compare what I’m doing with what my husband and kids are doing.  I start to get pretty agitated with them.  I often see them sitting on the couch, playing on their devices, or going to bed before me…  all while I’m working and it’s frustrating!  Last night I was a little upset as I cooked and served dinner, worked on the checkbook, and got things picked up by myself.  I was ready to scream, “A little help would be nice!”  Then I was convicted as I really looked to see what my family was doing.  My daughter was working on a HUGE project and was up super late finishing it.  My husband was fooling around with my son which he doesn’t have a lot of time to do.  As a mom, what more could I WANT out of my family at that moment?  Did I really want them to stop doing that and help me?  NO!  Don’t get me wrong, all family members can get the lazy bug and we may need to prod them a little…  LOVINGLY, but last night wasn’t one of those moments for me.  My husband’s and kids’ purposes are NOT the same as mine.  As long as they are doing what they’ve been called to , I need to trust that!

P-rayer:

Dear God, help me and my family be cheerful givers and not compare who is giving more.  I want my family to reap bountifully by fulfilling the purposes that You’ve put in each of our hearts.  Please continue to be with each of us and give us Your strength to do so!  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
