Intentionally Focused – Day 10

DayImage 10 of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.  I pray it helps me look up to Him more!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

 Jesus answered and said to her, “Whoever drinks of this water will thirst again, but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst.  But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.  ~ John 4:13-14

O-bservations:

When you try to fill or quench your desires with worldly stuff, the fullness doesn’t last.  But when you fill yourself with the stuff God has intended for you, it’ll last.  How do you “drink” from God?  READ his word, and have conversations through prayer.

A-pplication:

One of my sisters lives in Nashville and she has 3 kids that I love to pieces.  I have visited them during February vacation for a couple of years and it gives me something to look forward to in the yucky cold season of Maine.  This year I said I wouldn’t go unless we were a month ahead on bills.  We are not, but I learned that my bonus would be 25% higher than last year and I’d get it a week before February vacation.  My heart skipped a beat and I thought, “I can go!”  It was MY bonus and I deserved to spend it on what I wanted.  All day, I kept feeling the guilt…  I kept fighting it…  that feeling like it’s not the right thing to do.  I woke up the next day and was reminded of Psalm 139:24: “see if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting”.  I said out loud to Jay, I’m not going to my sister’s unless we are a month ahead on bills.  Now he felt awful because he just booked an expensive triathlon training trip to AZ.

I  know God has allowed this trial in my life and it’s a test.  I KNOW it.  I’ve prayed NOT to feel resentment towards my husband for spending money on a trip.  I’ve also prayed for God’s will to be done and he doesn’t want us living paycheck to paycheck and I KNOW He’s looking to me to get us out of that constant fear and worry of “will we have enough”.  I KNOW God’s will is to have Jay go to AZ.  He delivered him from obesity and cancer and continues to put things in his path to help keep him focused on his health.  I would give ANYTHING to keep my husband healthy and HAPPY…  So I want to drink from the water God’s provided through my bible and my prayer life.  I want to put my time and energy into what he’s called me to do, (Get our finances under control).  And not what this world is telling me to do, (go see my sister).  God wants me to spend time with my sister, but he wants it in HIS time.  How much more will I enjoy my visit KNOWING it’s when God wants me there!

P-rayer:

Dear God, Thank-you for giving me water that provides everlasting life.  Please help me to drink from Your well rather than what the world is providing.  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
