Intentionally Focused – Day 17

Image Day 17  of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.  I pray it helps me look up to Him more!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

Finally Brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy — meditate on these things.  ~ Philippians 4:8

O-bservations:

We need to be constantly thinking of Godly things.  The next verse after this one states: “do this and the God of peace will be with you.”  Period!  Control your mind and you will have peace in any situation.

A-pplication:

All of us have minds that need to be whipped back into shape from time to time.  Mine a little more often than I’d like.  🙂  Generally there are areas that are harder than others for us to deal with, like: anger, fear, feeling sorry for yourself, doubt, sadness etc.  I struggle with fairness.  With Jay’s triathlon training, I am tested ALL the time…  It’s not fair he gets to go workout with his friends 4x a week, it’s not fair he gets to spend $ that I can’t, it’s not fair he gets to go to AZ and train when I can’t go see my sister.  Now when I really look at the truth, it’s not that I can’t, it’s that I know I shouldn’t.  Jay and I have talked about his triathlon training and we’ve agreed to everything so it’s not like he made these decisions without me, but there are often times that I just get a little ticked because it seems so unfair.  Then I look up and realize how yucky I feel thinking about unfair thoughts.  I start praying in thanksgivings and God’s will NOT my will to be done.  Then I realize God’s plan is not the same for all of us.  Jay was obese and had health issues up the ying-yang including cancer.  I have a funny suspicion that God’s plan involves a TON of exercise for him.  Jay’s been training for a few years and has actually brought a few people to church and has been able to set a GREAT example for people who tend to be a little self-centered.  SO…  remember when you are not thinking good thoughts, that the peace of God is just a thought away if you are willing to change what you are thinking about.

P-rayer:

Dear God, thank-you for me and my family’s health.  Please help me meditate on virtuous things all day long so Your perfect peace will be with me.  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
