Intentionally Focused – Day 18

Image Day 18  of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.  I pray it helps me look up to Him more!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.  ~ Colossians 3:2

O-bservations:

The only way we can live the life God intended for us, when He created us, is to have spiritual thoughts.  ONLY then (by living through Jesus), will our intended life be revealed to us.

A-pplication:

One of my gifts from God is my ability to figure things out.  I’m great at analyzing situations and knowing what the best course of action is.  At work and in my home, I controlled most situations and it was OK with everyone, because I did it well and they didn’t have to.  But just because everyone is OK with it doesn’t mean it’s OK with God.  By me controlling everything, I wasn’t allowing others to see their potential and I wasn’t giving my husband the chance to lead his family.  The closer I become to God the more I realize there are things He wants me to control and other things He doesn’t.  It’s hard for me to step back and give up that control but at the same time, freeing.  I have to wrestle with the constant feeling of “I can do that better,” and replace it with a prayer “God, is this something you want me to do?”   The more I step back, the more I see God work.  Now it doesn’t mean I’m a wall flower just letting life pass her by.  I still give council when I think it’d be beneficial, but I don’t feel like the final decision or the push to have action is mine any longer.  It’s been a hard transition, but one where I’m able to see God work in more people around me and that is so cool!

P-rayer:

Dear God, thank-you for Your perfect will and the life You have planned for me.  Please help me to realize it and always look up so I can continue to fulfill my purpose.  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
