Intentionally Focused – Day 21

Image Day 21  of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.  there is no assigned reading on the weekends but I just love getting into the word each and every day so I chose to read 1 Peter 1:13-21 today and picked passages 14-16 to SOAP.  I pray it helps me look up to Him more!  It takes 3 weeks to make a habit and I’m on day 21.  I haven’t missed 1 day and I truly feel blesses because of it.

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

as obedient children, not conforming yourselves to the former lusts, as in your ignorance; but as He who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, because it is written, Be Holy for I am Holy.  ~ 1 Peter 14-16

O-bservations:

Kids need knowledge to make educated decisions.  Even with knowledge they’ll still make wrong decisions because they want to or others are encouraging them to and they are too weak.  This scripture is comparing us to kids who with knowledge know better than to make the mistakes of the past.  We have the knowledge of Christ and have called to be HOLY like Him, we just have to put aside our earthly desires.

A-pplication:

I have a show I love that probably has NO redeeming qualities about it.  I know through God’s Word I shouldn’t be wasting my time on it.  I had binged 5 season and then stopped because that was all that was on Netflix for free.  I soon realized I had a problem.  I went a few months not watching the show and started this group and really living out the plan God has intended for me.  Life was going good.  Then one night Jay and I were alone without the kids and we bought the next season.  We watched 2 episodes and I felt yucky.  There is great acting, great plot, and it’s über popular, BUT I know God has called me to be different and I’m OK with that if I can be called HOLY!  I will probably watch the show but NOT multiple episodes and NOT when there are pieces of the plan God has called me to that aren’t done!

P-rayer:

Dear God, thank-you for Your knowledge and Your Son so I might be called HOLY!  Please help lead me in Your ways and not the ways of this world.  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
