Intentionally Focused – Day 22

Image Day 22 of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.  I pray it helps me look up to Him more!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”  Now the Lord God had formed out of the ground all the wild animals and all the birds in the sky. He brought them to the man to see what he would name them; and whatever the man called each living creature, that was its name. So the man gave names to all the livestock, the birds in the sky and all the wild animals.  But for Adam no suitable helper was found.  So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and then closed up the place with flesh. Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man.  The man said, This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’  for she was taken out of man.”  That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.  ~ Genesis 2:18-24

O-bservations:

God has called all of us to serve.  If we are married we are called to serve our husbands. Not as a week doormat, but a strong companion standing at their side.  Much like a great boss trusts his best worker.  Both do their best to promote the company and your boss often looks to you for counsel and help when the jobs needs to be done, but the ultimate responsibility falls on your boss so they are leader of your team and make the final decisions and decide the plan for your team.

A-pplication:

There can’t be too many leaders.  We need to accept our role as a helper so that our marriage runs smoothly.  I used the example of how you feel working for a GREAT boss and the desire to want to be a great worker and help the team ultimately help the company.  The company is God’s kingdom, the boss is our husband, and we are the trusted worker our family is our team.   It’s easy to see the analogy when you have a GREAT boss.  Often times we may feel our husband is making the wrong decision for our family.  I think as a wife we need to OUT OF LOVE voice our concerns without undermining their authority.  Have you ever told your husband his idea was wrong or he is not doing something correctly?  That cuts them deep because God made them the head and they LONG to be respected.  Have you ever been neglected or not recognized?  That cuts us deep because we are designed to be a HELPER and that feeling like we are not loved and appreciated cuts deep for us.  So when we provide counsel we need to do so in a LOVING way that doesn’t make our husband feel like he’s not respected.  This is tricky.  I tried this the other day in one area of our budget.  It didn’t end well and took a couple of days to iron out.  He didn’t agree with me and I was MAD…  I began to dig in and try to talk my way into him believing what I believed.  I only conveyed my lack of respect with this conversation and I should have known better.  He is responsible for the family when he meets God.  We need to understand that because of that, our husbands need to lead…  it’s their job.

P-rayer:

Dear God, thank-you for creating me to be a perfect helper for my husband.  Please give him the boldness to lead our family and me the strength and knowledge to be the best helper I can be.  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
