Intentionally Focused – Day 23

Image Day 23 of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.  I pray it helps me look up to Him more!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree desirable to make one wise, she took of its fruit and ate.  She also gave to her husband with her, and he ate.  ~ Genesis 3:6

O-bservations:

We like shiny things and things that promise quick fixes, but often they oppose what God wants for us.  There effects will cause long-term hardship or their pleasing effects will fade quickly.  Because we know this deep down, we will try to drag someone in with us to make us think it’s OK.

A-pplication:

There are so many bad decisions I’ve made and dragged Jay into.  I’m doing better but they often involve buying things we can’t afford and then feeling immense guild and financial stress that leads to stress in our marriage and in our life.   Through many failed tests and learning to better listen to God , I’ve learned that waiting or not getting something I desire because we can’t afford it brings me peace and long-term Joy.  It’s so hard to wait given the “we deserve it now” mentality of society.  But we are called to be DIFFERENT!

I so wanted to see my sister this Feb vacation, but I knew God was telling me not to plan it.  Given the month we’ve had, I’m so glad I didn’t!  I would have been crushed and I would have had my 2 kids and my sister’s 3 kids so heart-broken which would have crushed me even more.  I know they are coming up for a month in the summer and that visit will be THAT MUCH MORE special!  I ASKED God in prayer, He ANSWERED me and I LISTENED.  I feel I have been faithful to Him in this decision and I’m so thankful I was!

P-rayer:

Dear God, thank-you for the tests so they can become testimonies.  Please help me recognize what is good and that which will steal my joy.  Thank-you for my husband who helps keep me on the path you’ve laid out for me.  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
