Intentionally Focused – 2/20/14

logoDay 32  of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.   I pray it helps me look up to Him more!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.  […] Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you. ~ Ephesians 4:29, 31-32

O-bservations:

Our words can bring people up or down.  We can speak what is good or let the anger and bitterness corrupt our words and cause destruction in other people and in us.

A-pplication:

Several years ago we were close to a family.  They are wonderful people full of joy and giving except this one seed that would rear its ugly head every once in a while.  My passion and drive would be taken for constant competition, my love for exercise and eating right was becoming annoying to them.  It was hard for them to understand I loved God most, then my husband and then my family…  I did not have myself in my top 3.  I am not perfect, but I tried and prayed and did everything with them and then I think the Devil realized what could happen if God got ahold of this family and weeded that seed that had taken root.  They could change the world.  Feelings of hurt, anger, jealously, and of me lying were allowed to grow and thoughts became words and then became their truths.  It led to the destruction of our friendship and the family’s friendship.  I’m sure I didn’t handle the situation correctly.  I was so hurt, but I’ve done my best and pray that if anything happens like this again, God please no…  I will be better.  It took a little bit, but I pray for them whenever they come into my mind.  I hope all their issues can be resolved and God puts the right people in their lives.

Through all this I realize what a good Christian friend is…  One that picks you up if you fall or vice versa.  They care and love you with kindness and forgiveness when you’ve done something wrong.  It is so easy to get our feeling hurt and then “drop” people and find someone else, but if you bring correction to them in a loving manner, a good friend will listen and you need to do the same.  Those circumstances are hard and ones that I’m not good with.  I hate confrontation, but I need to be better if I’m going to be a good friend.

P-rayer:

Dear God, thank-you for Your Word and the example You gave us of a true friend with Your Son, Jesus.  Help me to be a better friend and choose to follow those that are following you and help those who aren’t.  I pray I can be helpful by speaking Your truths to other.  Thank you so much for the Planning People Group.  I love this group because we put You first, then our husbands, and then our family and friends.  Please continue to allow us to see this path for our lives.  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
