Intentionally Focused – 2/22/14

Day 33  of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.   I pray it helps me look up to Him more!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

Therefore I say to you, her sins, which are many, are forgiven, for she loved much.  But to whom little is forgiven, the same loves little.  ~Luke 7:47

O-bservations:

When we love, our mistakes are forgiven.  We need to truly love Jesus though.  We need to have faith and do our best to uphold what He has taught us.  A few verses later Jesus says, “your faith has saved you, go in peace”.  So because she had faith Jesus was who he claimed to be, she loved him whole heartedly and was forgiven of her sins which allowed for a peace only God can bring.

A-pplication:

God allows tests in order to teach and strengthen us to love and have faith.  I try hard to think, “why did He allow this to happen” when bad stuff comes my way.

Yesterday my car died.  Gabe had basketball practice, we were late and I was at the school complex but had no idea which gym…  elementary, middle or high school.  After checking elementary, I started driving to the middle school…  my service engine soon light came on, my engine power failure light came on,  and my car stopped going.  All the electrical was working so it wasn’t that.  I had the pedal all the way pushed down and I was only going 5- 10 mph.  Gabe was only 15 min late after the 3rd gym was the correct one and Abby and I made our way to the mechanic.  It was about 5 min away and I thought we could make it.  We are going down side streets with our hazards on but there was no traffic behind us; praise God!  THEN came 302.  I had to make a left hand turn not knowing if my car was going to make it or if it’d die right in the middle of 302.  With Abby and I praying the whole time, we made it.  We had probably 20 cars behind us before turning into my mechanic’s road off of 302, but we made it!  God was all around this…  My mechanic said he leaves at noon on Fridays, but had stayed to get stuff done (so he was there), Jay was supposed to be doing a bunch of appraisals up in the Rumford/Mexico area, but decided to stay home (so he could come get us).  But the BIGGEST thing…  Do you remember what I gave up doing with the kiddos this February vacation?  A trip to Nashville to see my sister.  God knows…  God always knows and though that decision not to go was hard, it was the right one.  Now I know exactly why!  I have sinned with over spending, but I love God and am trying to be better.  I KNOW He’ll get us through this situation because He’s forgiven my past sins and I have faith in Him!

P-rayer:

Dear God, thank-you for showing me why on this one.  It was hard to decide not to go see my sister, but it was clearly the right decision.  Please help me to continue to follow the plan You have laid out for me and to love You with all my heart!  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
