Intentionally Focused – 2/25/14

Day 36 of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused. I pray it helps me look up to Him more!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

things we have heard and known,
things our ancestors have told us.
 We will not hide them from their descendants;
we will tell the next generation
the praiseworthy deeds of the Lord,
his power, and the wonders he has done.
[…]so the next generation would know them,
even the children yet to be born,
and they in turn would tell their children.
7 Then they would put their trust in God
and would not forget his deeds
but would keep his commands. ~ Psalms 78: 3-4 & 6-7

O-bservations:

This Psalm is about God showing kindness when Israel rebelled over and over again.  Davids heart was in the right place and trying to be the good example and because of that God showed him and Israel kindness.  As a parent these verses explain that we are supposed to be living a life so that we can tell our kids, “Do as I say AND as I do.”  One doesn’t work without the other.  They need to know what God expects from them and then see how it will affect their lives.  Keeping his commands will produce wonderful results.  Our kids need to be constantly reminded of that.

A-pplication:

There were some areas of my life God needed to prune in order to help me teach my kids about keeping His commandments and trying to live a sinless life that He’s asked of us.  I didn’t drink alcohol often, maybe 1 or sometimes 2 times a month, but when I did, I did it in excess.  I would usually feel awful the next morning which would often keep me from being with my kids, church, and family functions.  The weekends are a blessing for my family.  A time to spend with each other and our extended family and church family.  I was simply disregarding this blessing and it had to stop.  Last Summer I went out with friends and has a few too many.  Usually this would have caused me to wake up feeling yucky until about 10 or so.  Well God had a plan for me today.  I was in bed until after dinner time.  I was unable to keep any fluids down and Jay was ready to take me to the ER to get some fluids.  I was BAD.  Since that day I have only had 1 drink on any given occassion and often will go out and I’ll have cranberry and seltzer.  I have been called to be different.  I AM a Proverbs 31 women who doesn’t have time to be in bed all day.  If I bring that on myself then I’m not teaching my kids how to honor God.  My words AND my actions need to show my kids that I’m keeping His commandments.  Words without action are worthless and we need to always remember that.

P-rayer:

Dear God, help me recognize the pruning You are trying to accomplish in me so that I can ensure my kids know of Your commandments, Your strength and Your wonderful works.  I need to speak of them often , believe them in my heart and have my actions PROVE that.  Thank you for Your strength in order to accomplish all this, because I can’t do this on my own.  Please help me to always feel your strength. I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

 

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
