Intentionally Focused – 3/1/14

Day 40 of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused. I pray it helps me look up to Him more!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

For as high as the heavens are above the earth,     so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west,     so far has he removed our transgressions from us.   As a father has compassion on his children,     so the Lord has compassion on those who fear him; ~ Psalm 103: 11-13

O-bservations:

this verse gives us a picture of how God is but it references a parent/child relationship so we learn about that as well.  Do your children try not to sin because of a healthy fear of you?  When they do sin, is your discipline loving?  Do you hold onto their sin or do you remove it from your opinion of your child?  Are you sad for them when they do stumble?

A-pplication:

I had to learn this the hard way with my son, Gabe.  He was constantly not doing what was asked of him.  I would get so frustrated, lash out and then he’d get completely deflated.  Through a lot of prayer, research, and conversations.  I figured out how to parent my child.  He needed 1 item to do and needed a reminder as a freebie.  He also needed a TON of praise for when he did it on his own.  Before we figured this out, I’d constantly say: “You never do this right.” or ” You haven’t remembered all week, why would today be any different?”  That was wrong and I wasn’t dealing with this appropriately.  I need to separate yesterdays sins from today as far as the east is from the west!

 

P-rayer:

Dear God, help me to have Your patience, love, compassion, and correction with my kids so I can see them as you do.  I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
