Intentionally Focused – 3/14/14 = LAST DAY

Day 56 of the GoodMorningGirls.org bible study called, Intentionally Focused.  Can you believe it’s the last day???  It has been so awesome and I’ve loved sharing with everyone.  I can’t wait to start… Why Easter Matters in a couple of weeks.  In the meantime, I’ll be doing my soaps on the Proverbs31.org devotionals.   :-)

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

Therefore, since we have these promises, dear friends, let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit, perfecting holiness out of reverence for God.~ 2 Cor. 7:1

O-bservations:

God has promised to walk with us and receive us as sons and daughters, if we live our lives separate than the unbelievers.  The fear of losing our relationship with God should be enough to not sin.   The sin of the world is on us so we must cleanse ourselves by doing what God expects from us.  There is a difference between receiving salvation and living as a daughter of the Father!

A-pplication:

When Jay and I began going to church 10 years ago, we had many unbelieving friends.  We would often spend Saturday night at a friend’s house drinking to excess and then wasting away our Sunday trying to feel better.  We lived on credit cards.  We would yell at each other or the kids when something angered us.  We had a diet that was whatever was quick and easy and tasted good.  We had accepted Jesus as our Savior and gained our salvation but were doing NOTHING to live like God’s son and daughter.  I think there were a few critical tests God allowed us to go through that helped us to gain that healthy fear of losing God, our Father.

  • My 3 miscarriages
  • Gabe’s health issues and ADHD
  • Jason’s cancer
  • Our near bankruptcy

In all these situations, we exhausted all options that we could do ourselves so the only place left to turn was Him.

I had gotten pregnant and given birth to Abby with no complications so when we decided to have another child we didn’t think there would be any issues.  Boy was I wrong…  I had 3 miscarriages and each one of them ripped my heart out worse than the last.  The 3rd one happened the day after I heard the babies heartbeat.   I was an emotional mess, but up until that point I had been going to Dr, trying different things and not asking for God’s help.  After the 3rd miscarriage I prayed and said that if He allowed be to have another baby, I’d consider the baby to be a message from Him.  When I found out the baby was a boy we decided to name him Gabriel since he was a messenger from God.   All through the pregnancy I had a sinful doubt that I’d miscarry again and never became attached.  After Gabe was born he had all kinds of breathing issues which we discovered to be acid reflux.  Then his behavior issues started which we discovered to be ADHD.  For the first 6 years of his life, Gabe was in and out of doctor’s offices.  Through all that time, energy and prayers I devoted to my son, I gained a love so deep that I never would have had if he had been perfectly fine.  (I’m ashamed to say that, but it’s the truth.)

We just get Gabe’s stuff figured out and we discover Jay had cancer.  I was totally convinced God HAD it covered, and He did because Jay is cancer free!  My  faith was never shaken with Jay’s health…  but him out of work for several months and not making any $ was a different story.  Like I had mentioned, we had previously been living on credit cards and had debit that would make most people eyeballs pop out of their heads so I was afraid.  The debt was crippling and we almost had tossed around the B word…  bankruptcy, but there had to be another way.  Being in debt is one sin, but not paying it back is FAR worse.  We decided to borrow $ against my 401K to get us through.   We are probably 75% better in the finances stuff than we were 5 years ago, praise God!  But we still have more work to do, and we are willing to do it!

Cancer had also woke Jay and I up to our health.  We were both overweight and didn’t exercise.  We started working out and eating better and now we could NEVER go back.  It’s a part of us and always will be.  Through our healthy eating and cutting out the garbage, our son is off his ADHD medication, praise God!  Isn’t it so cool that God could use Gabe’s ADHD to create a love so strong and then cure it with a cancer.  ONLY  GOD!

Through all these trials, we stopped hanging out with our old friends and started hanging out with our new friends at Saturday night service.  We grew deeper in our faith and started to cleanse ourselves.   I still care for our old friends and see them once in a while but I no longer conform to their lives because I have decided to be separate.  I want to call God my Father and I want Him to call me His daughter!

P-rayer:

Dear God, please help me continue to cleanse myself and know what You want me to do.  I want to be Your daughter…  not the one that sneaks out of the house and gives you grey hair…  the one who You are proud of and give a lot of responsibility to!   I pray this in Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
