SOAP – 3/24/14

For the next 2 weeks I’ll be following Proverbs31′s daily devotionals to study. I hope it helps me to become closer to my Father!

Today’s SOAP:

S-cripture:

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.~ Ephesians 4:29

O-bservations:

We need to speak words that lift people up; help people; are loving and meant to put more love into people’s lives.

A-pplication:

This past winter right before starting my journey to follow the example of Women Living Well, I had gone out with a friend.  I unfortunately downloaded on her all the stuff that was aggravating me about my husband.  How he always is on his phone, never spending time with the kids or I, spends so much time with his tri buddies, spends all this $ on tri stuff and going out after workouts.  As I poured my frustrations out on her, I saw her expression change.  I normally am very positive and I think I shocked her.  I also deflated her good mood.  What was I doing?  Complaining to my friend ruined her mood, made her worry about me, made me feel yucky and put my awesome husband in a horrible light!  I was one of THOSE people…  you  know the one you never want to sit next to or see in the grocery store.  The ones that ALWAYS have problems and want you to share in their misery.  THOSE people are no fun.  Now if I was chatting with her about HONEST to goodness problems and was looking for her to help me through them and was confiding in her out of love than that would be different.  There was no love in what I was saying that night and God convicted me as I laid my head down on my pillow.  I popped back up and talked with my husband about his recent actions and He agreed and explained why the situations were happening and said he’d make sure it didn’t happen again.  BAM, thing were once again joyous and peaceful.  I shared with my friend the next day that I had done the RIGHT thing and talked to my husband!  Things were once again on the right track!

P-rayer:

Dear God, please keep me in your love and help me feel it so I can pour love out onto people not my anger, frustrations and pain.  Please forgive me when my words are negative and not leading people back to you.  Please continue to convict me so I can correct it right away.  I pray in the name of Jesus Christ, AMEN!

Leave a Reply

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d4b3719b-5ef3-4646-9d68-4877e2f915d0'); Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)
